EPISODE 31

Helen Ellis and The Spies of Shilling Lane

June 5, 2019 - Abbe laughs uproariously with Southern Lady Code author Helen Ellis, gabs with the Book Babes about delish summer reads, and reviews a new WWII-set novel, The Spies of Shilling Lane.

In this episode, Abbe tells us about a new WWII-set novel, The Spies of Shilling Lane by Jennifer Ryan, the perfect read for fans of The Nightingale or All the Light We Cannot See.

Then, she sits down with author, professional poker player, and all-around funny gal Helen Ellis about her new book of essays, Southern Lady Code. Southern Lady Code means: if you don’t have something nice to say, say something not-so-nice in a nice way, which she teaches listeners in her podcast of the same name. Helen teaches us the ins and outs of what’s being said directly to your face.

When you fail that much, you're more willing to try things or expose yourself...you know, not like that...unless, you know, it's one of those kinds of parties.
—Helen Ellis

Finally, Abbe chats with Victoria, Caroline, and Stacey, the three women behind Book Babes, the NYC-based book club for millennial women, about their ideal summer reads and their monthly events. Learn more about what’s coming up here, or follow them on Instagram.

 

Subscribe to the Read It Forward podcast on Apple Podcasts and never miss an episode!