• The cover of the book Guestbook

    Guestbook

    Spooky meter: 👻 (one ghost)

    A series of ghosts appear at their former bedsides. A woman returns from a visit to Alcatraz with an uncomfortable feeling. A tennis prodigy collapses due to an invisible presence. Artist and author Leanne Shapton explores the visitations that haunt us in this stunning collection of stories and vignettes.

     
  • The cover of the book Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead

    Spooky meter: 👻 (one ghost)

    Thriller-meets-dark-fairy-tale in this story about a recluse in a Polish village who gets involved in the investigation of a series of murders. From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, this mystery brilliantly explores the murky border between sanity and madness.

     
  • The cover of the book Bunny

    Bunny

    Spooky meter: 👻 (one ghost)

    Margaret Atwood called this spellbinding novel “Jon Swift + The Witches of Eastwick + Kelly ‘Get In Trouble’ Link + Mean Girls + Creative Writing Degree Hell!” Need we say more?

     
  • The cover of the book The Saturday Night Ghost Club

    The Saturday Night Ghost Club

    Spooky meter: 👻 (one ghost)

    A bunch of misfit kids spend an unforgettable summer investigating local ghost stories and urban legends. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things or anyone who wants a spooky fix with a heavy dose of ’80s nostalgia and coming of age feels.

     
  • The cover of the book The Poison Thread

    The Poison Thread

    Spooky meter: 👻👻 (two ghosts)

    A thrilling Victorian gothic about a young seamstress who claims her needle and thread have the power to kill… The Poison Thread is a spine-tingling, sinister read about the evil that lurks behind the facade of innocence.

     
  • The cover of the book Japanese Ghost Stories

    Japanese Ghost Stories

    Spooky meter: 👻👻 (two ghosts)

    In this collection of classic ghost stories based on Japanese folklore, paintings come alive, deadly brides haunt the living, and a samurai delivers the baby of a Shinto goddess with mystical help. These chilling tales are major classics in Japan—do you dare to find out why?

     
  • The cover of the book The Little Stranger

    The Little Stranger

    Spooky meter: 👻👻 (two ghosts)

    One postwar summer, Dr. Faraday is called to a patient at Hundreds Hall. Home to the Ayres family for more than two centuries, the Georgian house, once impressive, is now in decline. But are the Ayreses haunted by something more sinister than a dying way of life?

     
  • The cover of the book Fever Dream

    Fever Dream

    Spooky meter: 👻👻👻 (three ghosts)

    A young woman lies dying in a rural hospital clinic. A boy sits beside her. She’s not his mother. He’s not her child. Together, they tell a haunting story of broken souls, toxins, and the power and desperation of family. Fever Dream is truly a nightmare come to life.

     
  • The cover of the book Frankenstein in Baghdad

    Frankenstein in Baghdad

    Spooky meter: 👻👻👻 (three ghosts)

    From the rubble-strewn streets of Baghdad, an oddball scavenger named Hadi collects human body parts and stitches them together to create a corpse. But when the corpse goes missing and a wave of murders sweeps the city, Hadi soon realizes he’s created a monster, one that needs human flesh to survive.

     
  • The cover of the book The Good Son

    The Good Son

    Spooky meter: 👻👻👻 (three ghosts)

    Early one morning, Yu-jin wakes up to a strange metallic smell and a mysterious call. Yu-jin soon discovers his mother’s murdered body, lying at the bottom of the stairs of their Seoul duplex. Thus begins Yu-jin’s frantic search to uncover what happened, and finally learn the truth about his family.