• The cover of the book The Words I Never Wrote

    The Words I Never Wrote

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    When Juno Lambert purchases a 1931 typewriter, she discovers documents that detail the lives of sisters Cordelia and Irene. Cordelia wrote a series of letters to Irene, trying to warn her about her marriage. As a journalist, Cordelia has access to information that she is convinced means that her sister’s husband has ties to the Nazis. But the mystery is incomplete, and as Juno digs further into the sisters’ story, she discovers that a long-buried secret had a huge impact on their lives.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Lost Roses

    Lost Roses

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Eliza Ferriday travels to St. Petersburg in 1914, while Europe moves toward World War I. There, she socializes with Sofya Streshnayva, a member of the royal Romanov family. When World War I begins, Eliza goes home to the U.S., but as she watches developments abroad, she becomes determined to save Sofya. Martha Hall Kelly’s second novel is about the dedication each woman has to their friendship, and how they will have to persevere in order to save Sofya’s life.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book I Was Anastasia

    I Was Anastasia

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    After the 1917 Russian Revolution, the Tsar and his family were executed. But in the next decade, in Berlin, a woman named Anna Anderson declared that she was Anastasia, one of the Tsar’s daughters. She gathered many followers and was feted in Europe and America. For 60 years, Anna insisted that she was a member of the Romanov family. Was she? Ariel Lawson fills in the details of a remarkable life in this work of historical fiction.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book The Secrets We Kept

    The Secrets We Kept

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Before Doctor Zhivago became a hit film, it was a novel by Boris Pasternak, who was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature but was prevented from leaving the USSR to receive it. However, the book would never have made it to the world if not for the brave women who aided in smuggling it out of the Soviet Union. Having their identities revealed would have led to imprisonment or worse. The risks they took drives the action in this compelling novel and will astonish readers.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Wunderland

    Wunderland

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Ilse Fischer and Renate Bauer are teenaged best friends in Berlin. When Ilse joins the Nazi party, Renate is horrified: the Nazis have targeted people she loves. Renate feels increasingly threatened while Ilse thrives. Years later, Ava, Ilse’s daughter, will uncover evidence that her mother committed a horrendous act. As Ava wrestles with what her mother did, she learns of the devastating events that drove Ilse and Renate apart.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Before We Were Yours

    Before We Were Yours

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Rill is the eldest child in charge of four younger siblings who are all left alone one night when a sudden medical emergency keeps their parents away from home. The officials who intervene insist that the parents were neglectful on that night, and the kids are placed in an orphanage. There, they come into the orbit of an administrator who has found a horrible way to make money off the children in her care.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Tending Roses

    Tending Roses

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Kate has moved with her young family to her grandmother’s Missouri farm. Her relatives have given Kate the task of convincing her grandmother to move to a nursing home. But as Kate learns more of her grandmother’s story, and how a handmade notebook reveals truths about the older woman, she comes to understand essential information that the rest of her family has missed.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book The Last Year of the War

    The Last Year of the War

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    While Americans are familiar with the internment of American citizens of Japanese descent during World War II, Meissner uncovers a little-known story in her latest novel. Elise Sontag is an Iowa teenager who leads an ordinary life in 1943. But when her father, a permanent resident, is accused of being a Nazi sympathizer, Elise and her family are imprisoned in a Texas internment camp. There, Elise becomes friends with Mariko, who is also experiencing the devastating impact of having been forced from her Los Angeles home. As the girls become close, they will be tested even further.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book We Were the Lucky Ones

    We Were the Lucky Ones

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Readers meet the Kurcs of Radom, Poland, as they laugh and joke with each other at a Seder. But the 1939 invasion of Poland by the Nazis will scatter the tight-knit family, as some are able to escape to refuge in other countries, while others face some of the 20th century’s darkest days. As they fight to be reunited, the struggles of each family member are brought to riveting life in Hunter’s novel.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book We Must Be Brave

    We Must Be Brave

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    During World War II, many British children were evacuated away from cities under Luftwaffe bombardment. When little Pamela is found sleeping on a bus, no one knows who the girl is or where she is from. Newlywed Ellen Parr thinks that taking care of a child is the last thing she’s ready for. But as the bond between her and Pamela grows strong, she suddenly can’t fathom saying goodbye to this little girl at the end of the war.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book The Fountains of Silence

    The Fountains of Silence

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    The overturning of the elected Spanish government and bloody civil war that followed resulted in the dictatorship of Francisco Franco. In 1957 Madrid, tourists are oblivious to the suffering around them. But when wealthy teenager Daniel Matheson arrives in hopes of seeing the land of his mother’s birth through his camera lens, the images he captures lead him to uncovering secrets that the powerful would prefer stay hidden.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book The Blackbird Girls

    The Blackbird Girls

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Valentina Kaplan and Oksana Savchenko are neighbors who live outside Chernobyl. They don’t like each other, but when the reactor melts down at the nuclear power plant, the girls are evacuated to Leningrad to live with Valentina’s grandmother. As the girls begin to learn the older woman’s story about events from 1941, they are taught lessons about trust and the transformational power of friendship.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Lovely War

    Lovely War

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    The Greek goddess of love, Aphrodite, is called to testify in front of the other gods on Mount Olympus. She is there to tell the story of Hazel, James, Aubrey, and Colette, whose actions during the two world wars are to be judged by the immortals. Aphrodite’s story of the classical pianist from London, the British architectural student who becomes a soldier, the Harlem-born musical genius who enlists, and the Belgian orphan with the beautiful voice reveals a history of drama and emotional truths.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon