• The cover of the book How to Survive a Plague

    How to Survive a Plague

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    This book tells the story of the uphill battle to halt the AIDS epidemic, driven by advocacy among grassroots activists. The epidemic was almost universally ignored by politicians and the mainstream media, but many, including the characters dramatized in the cast of POSE get involved in ACT UP, including the “Stop the Church” protest at St. Patrick’s Cathedral.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Lot

    Lot

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    This collection of stories speaks to the ongoing tradition of the ballroom scene—a chosen family—and the necessity to reinterpret “home,” as one finds their places in the world. Similarly to the performances on the show, Washington’s prose is dripping with humanity, familiarity, and nuance.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Trap Door

    Trap Door

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    This book includes “essays, conversations, and dossiers” that explore themes of representation, activism, beauty, identity, and visibility among the trans community from a range of contributors. One of the most beautiful things about POSE is hearing the stories of the characters, and this book chronicles the real life trailblazers, newsmakers, and groundbreakers.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Here for It

    Here for It

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Few people know the intersection between personal and political as well as R. Eric Thomas, Senior Staff Writer for Elle.com. The ability to find wit and whimsy in parallel with self-reflection and humility bring this read to life.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Legendary Children

    Legendary Children

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Modern day drag owes everything it has to the ballroom kids of the 80s and 90s featured in POSE. This book explores the queer history of the modern-day phenomenon, and helps illustrate just how relevant POSE is to today’s queer culture.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon