Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Be the First to Read The Knockoff, the Season’s Hottest Rom-Com Novel

“Makes The Devil Wears Prada look like My Little Pony.” –Toby Young, bestselling author of How to Lose Friends and Alienate People

An outrageously stylish, wickedly funny novel of fashion in the digital age, The Knockoff is the story of Imogen Tate, editor in chief of Glossy magazine, who finds her twentysomething former assistant Eve Morton plotting to knock Imogen off her pedestal, take over her job, and reduce the magazine, famous for its lavish 768-page September issue, into an app.

A glittering, uproarious, sharply drawn story filled with thinly veiled fashion personalities, The Knockoff is an insider’s look at the ever-changing world of fashion and a fabulous romp for our Internet-addicted age.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter for Your Chance to Win Cleopatra’s Daughter

Marc Antony and Cleopatra’s three orphaned children are taken in chains to Rome; only two – the ten-year-old twins Selene and Alexander – survive the journey.

Delivered to the household of Octavian’s sister, the siblings cling to each other and to the hope that they will return one day to their rightful place on the throne of Egypt. As they come of age, they are buffeted by the personal ambitions of Octavian’s family and court, by the ever-present threat of slave rebellion, and by the longings and desires deep within their own hearts.

Cleopatra’s Daughter is a fascinating portrait of imperial Rome and of the people and events of this glorious and most tumultuous period in human history. Emerging from the shadows of the past, Selene, a young woman of irresistible charm and preternatural intelligence, will capture your heart.

Bonus Book Content Good for Book Clubs

Delicious Southern Menu from Frances Mayes’ Under Magnolia

Frances Mayes shares recipes for an easy-to-make Southern feast of comfort food at its best: Cheese Grits, Summer Squash Casserole, and Martha Washington Jetties.

Frances Mayes made us all fall in love with Tuscany with Under the Tuscan Sun. In Under Magnolia, the The Bard of Tuscany relishes the sweetness of the South, the smells and tastes at her family table and the fragrance of her hometown trees.

On grits: “We were always served grits for breakfast at my house, but somehow I never appreciated them until I lived in Italy and learned all about polenta, kissing cousin of grits. Now, living in the South again, I can’t get enough of shrimp and grits, or of this Cheese Grits dish my mother used to make.”

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Tell Us About the Books You Read Too Young

It’s unavoidable that children will be exposed to media that outpaces their emotional development: a racy scene caught on TV, a movie that they shouldn’t have been brought to . . . but what about books?

“After all, words (and the mental images they evoke) are seared into the brain long after fleeting stills from film or TV,” observes Natalie Zutter.

“Most people have a funny anecdote of ambitiously starting a book that was way too old for them, and never forgetting it . . . I always ‘read up’ as a child, regarding my grade-school library as a fortress of books to be conquered one copy at a time. If I ran out of books in my reading level, I would just move to the next one.”

Author Essays Good for Book Clubs

Start Reading Act of God by Jill Ciment

The twins suspected it was alive, but they weren’t exactly sure if it was plant or animal.

Dive into this weird, provocative, funny read with an excerpt of Act of God by Jill Ciment. It’s the summer of 2015, Brooklyn. The city is sweltering from another record-breaking heat wave, this one accompanied by biblical rains:

“Edith, white-haired and older by seventeen minutes, went to find a flashlight while Kat, blond with white roots, knelt to take a closer look. A small phosphorescent organism, about as bright and arresting as a firefly’s glow, bloomed in the seam of the hall closet. It almost looked as if someone had chewed a piece of iridescence and stuck it, like gum, on the wall. But it wasn’t inanimate like gum; its surface was roiling as if something beneath were struggling to be born.”

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

You Could Win a Frances Mayes Library!

Read It Forward is celebrating the paperback release of Frances Mayes’ lyrical and evocative memoir Under Magnolia by giving away a Frances Mayes Library!

We’re sharing nine of Frances Mayes’ books – count ‘em, nine: four books about life in Tuscany, including her beloved memoirs Under the Tuscan Sun and Every Day in Tuscany; two stunning travel books; a cookbook packed with delicious recipes; a gorgeous interior design book; and her novel, Swan.

It’s a sumptuous collection! Perfect for fans of Under the Tuscan Sun (the book or the movie), armchair travel, and Italian cooking and design. Also perfect for book clubs who want to create an extra special meeting complete with delicious food and insights from the author.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter for a Chance to Win Act of God: Part Horror Story, Part Screwball Comedy

A contemporary noir novel that starts out a comedy of errors and turns darker at every hairpin turn.

Alice Sebold has called her works “beautifully written.” Ann Patchett said Heroic Measures is “Smart and funny and completely surprising . . . I loved every page.” Her new novel Act of God “reads like an urbane spin on the Book of Job, written in the wake of Superstorm Sandy” (Michael Upchurch, Seattle Times).

It’s the summer of 2015, Brooklyn. The city is sweltering from another record-breaking heat wave, this one accompanied by biblical rains. Edith, a recently retired legal librarian, and her identical twin sister, Kat, a feckless romantic who’s mistaken her own eccentricity for originality, discover something ominous in their hall closet: it seems to be phosphorescent, it’s a mushroom . . . and it’s sprouting from their wall.

Author Essays Good for Book Clubs

Thriller Author Samantha Hayes On Feeling “Different”

Divorce was almost a thing to be whispered about: her parents are divorced, as if it would explain any oddities I had.

“During the week, I lived with my mum,” remembers Samantha Hayes, author of What You Left Behind.

“She was an artist, of the archetypal starving and bohemian kind, but had left art college to marry my dad and have kids. After the divorce, she went back to painting, but making a living was really tough. The family home had been sold, and the little cottage my mum bought was very basic and tumble-down, although she had grand plans to renovate it when she made some money. But despite her best efforts, the money never came. For the rest of my childhood we lived with a leaky roof, concrete floors, no heating, and we sometimes struggled to afford food.”