Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter to Win The Cake Therapist

A fiction debut that will leave you wanting seconds, from an award-winning cookbook author.

“A delicious treat for readers… Like a master chef, Judith Fertig takes the tale of a gifted baker starting all over in her old Midwestern hometown and layers it together with an intriguing mystery buried deep in the community’s Depression-era past.”—New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams

Claire “Neely” O’Neil is a pastry chef of extraordinary talent. Every great chef can taste shimmering, elusive flavors that most of us miss, but Neely can “taste” feelings—cinnamon makes you remember; plum is pleased with itself; orange is a wake-up call. When flavor and feeling give Neely a glimpse of someone’s inner self, she can customize her creations to help that person celebrate love, overcome fear, even mourn a devastating loss.

Good for Book Clubs

Literary Cuteness Overload: Kids Reading

We just can’t be cynical about the cuteness of kids reading.

It’s wonderful to see a child absorbed in the world of a book, whether it’s a tattered old picture book covered in toddler smudges or a chapter book that keeps them reading past their bedtime.

Maya Angelou put it so well: “Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.” We agree.

Plus, kids reading is just plain cute. We’ve gathered some of our favorite pics … literary cuteness overload!

Bonus Book Content Good for Book Clubs

Reading Guide for The Gracekeepers

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Stunning Spots for Outdoor Reading

Ah, Summer.

Bookworms across America are filling totebags and suitcases with their summer reads, shiny covers ready to wink in the sunlight on long, lazy Saturdays spent on the beach, at parks, or any other venue that is a bit closer to mother nature.

To celebrate this wonderful time in a reader’s yearly calendar, we collected the most amazing outdoor reading spots on the planet.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

RIFer Favorite Alert! Taylor Stevens’ Latest Thriller The Mask

“Stevens excels at depicting pulse-pounding danger, and her prose and plotting are spectacular. . . . Only Dan Brown and Lee Child come close.” —Dallas Morning News

Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and information hunter, has a reputation for getting things done: dangerous and not quite legal things that have taken her undercover into some of the world’s deadliest places. Still healing from a Somali hijacking gone wrong and a brutal attack that left her near death, Munroe joins her lover, Miles Bradford, in Japan where he’s working as a security consultant protecting high-value technology from industrial espionage. In the domesticity of their routine she finds long sought-after peace—until Bradford is arrested for murder, and the same interests who targeted him come after her, too.

Reader's Guide Good for Book Clubs

Reader’s Guide for The Life and Death of Sophie Stark

“A fierce, page-turning, exposé of a would-be/could-be bright star. –Marie Claire

Told in a chorus of voices belonging to those who knew Sophie best, The Life and Death of Sophie Stark is an intimate portrait of an elusive woman whose monumental talent and relentless pursuit of truth reveal the cost of producing great art. It is “not only a dissection of genius and the havoc it can wreak, but also a thunderously good story” (Emma Donoghue, author of Room).

It’s a perfect book for book groups, and we’ve gathered some questions that will inspire a lively conversation. We’ve also asked the author to answer some of the questions we had after reading this wonderful novel.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Win the New Novel by the Author of The Windup Girl

“This is a spectacular thriller, wonderfully imagined and written, and racing through it will make you think—and make you thirsty.” —Lee Child, author of Personal

The American Southwest has been decimated by drought. Nevada and Arizona skirmish over dwindling shares of the Colorado River, while California watches, deciding if it should just take the whole river all for itself. Into the fray steps Las Vegas water knife Angel Velasquez. Detective, assassin, and spy, Angel “cuts” water for the Southern Nevada Water Authority and its boss, Catherine Case, ensuring that her lush, luxurious arcology developments can bloom in the desert and that anyone who challenges her is left in the gutted-suburban dust.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Books You Love That No One Else Has Read

We all have them – books that we love that we’re surprised no one else has read.

Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers, shares five books she loves that no one else has read, including Boy Heaven by Laura Kasischke.

“As a fan of folktales, fairytales and mythology, I also love their modern equivalent: the urban legend. Here’s Kasischke takes a classic urban legend and places it in the setting of a girls’ summer camp. Her prose is gorgeous, creating a tone both ethereal and uncomfortable. I’m a big fan of books about ‘teen-girl realness’, and Boy Heaven is dead-on with the feelings, sights, and smells of girlhood.”