EPISODE 43

Oyinkan Braithwaite and The Swallows

October 22, 2019 - Abbe reviews The Swallows and talks with Oyinkan Braithwaite about her award-winning novel, My Sister, the Serial Killer, and to Rob Hart about The Warehouse.

Abbe Wright sits down with Nigerian author Oyinkan Braithwaite to discuss her award-winning novel, My Sister, the Serial Killer, about older siblings, and not judging the actions of her characters.

Later, Abbe chats with Rob Hart, author of The Warehouse, about setting his book in the undetermined “Near Future,” and what the real impact of two-day shipping is.

“We would like to think we would recognize evil if we saw it, but we probably wouldn’t, and that’s something I wanted to explore.”
—Oyinkan Braithwaite

Abbe also reviews a recent read, The Swallows by Lisa Lutz and revels in the high school drama within. The novel is perfect for fans of Gossip Girl or Pretty Little Liars, while still touching on some pretty serious subjects.

Subscribe to the Read It Forward podcast on Apple Podcasts and never miss an episode!