• The cover of the book The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires

    The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Much like the gang’s unsuspecting Staten Island neighbors, a group of women in 1990’s Charleston, NC are equally unprepared when a mysterious newcomer infiltrates their book club. But once he’s been invited in, the book club members must band together to defeat a vampire. Book club depends on it!

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Dracula

    Dracula

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    So perhaps this pick is a bit on the nose (or, er…the neck) but if you’re interested in learning more about the foundational vampire lore on which many of the jokes are based, then reading the story of Count Dracula, the most famous vampire in literature, is a must-do.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Damned

    Damned

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    The Shadows crew knows that roommates can be hell (imagine living for eternity with Colin Robinson!) and Chuck Palahniuk’s Damned features another rag-tag group of sinners who find themselves stuck together in hell—literally. This unlikely squad must put aside their differences and unite to confront the devil in this hilarious satire.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Meddling Kids

    Meddling Kids

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    Edgar Cantero’s Meddling Kids may not be about vampires, but this novel that follows four teen detectives hits the same spooky/humor sweet-spot as Shadows. Years after four friends solve the mystery of Sleepy Lake, they must reunite to rectify a mistake and find out what really happened back in 1977.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book Company

    Company

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    If Colin Robinson were to launch a company, for the sole purpose of sucking energy from his employees, he would have created Zephyr Holdings, the corporate monolith in Max Barry’s Company. While I won’t spoil the incredible twist, most of what happens to the characters would have Colin cackling with glee.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon
     
  • The cover of the book The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

    The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon

    In the same way that Shadows pokes fun at the Vampire trope, Hitchhikers lampoons the science fiction genre. Both share a set of four main characters accompanied by a long-suffering assistant, and both use their genre’s foundations to enhance their absurdist humor.

    Buy From Penguin Random House
    Also Available From
    Barnes & NobleBookshop.orgApple BooksAmazon