• The cover of the book Alexander Hamilton

    Alexander Hamilton

    Come now, of course Chernow makes the list. There are cases where one could argue for choosing adaptation over source material, but—even with as much detail as Miranda stuffed into his libretto—it’s just such a different experience. Chernow’s encapsulation of Hamilton’s relatively short life depicts the optimism and pessimism warring within him. It’s hard to imagine a time when Hamilton was considered a neglected subject, but Chernow was the first to bring him into the cultural consciousness.

     
  • The cover of the book The Killer Angels

    The Killer Angels

    While “The Killer Angels” may not be on Miranda’s bookshelf, it did inspire a different piece of work that fused unexpected elements: Joss Whedon’s space pirate TV series “Firefly.” As you read Shaara’s Pulitzer Prize-winning interpretation of the last days of the Civil War, you’ll see how his method of making these larger-than-life men into relatable figures makes this book a spiritual ancestor to Hamilton and his crew.

     
  • The cover of the book Fallen Founder

    Fallen Founder

    In Miranda’s telling, Aaron Burr makes the perfect foil: cool to Hamilton’s brashness, more oily than genuine, equal parts compelling and villainous. However, Isenberg argues, the only Burr we know is this nefarious caricature that has served other historical stories. While many papers that would speak to the real Burr were lost in a shipwreck, Isenberg taps into what his opponents said about him to uncover the more enlightened (and, she claims, more feminist) founder beneath. It’s like “Wait for It” in book form.

     
  • The cover of the book The Heartbreak of Aaron Burr

    The Heartbreak of Aaron Burr

    “This book unlocked him,” Miranda said of cracking the enigma that was Burr. Specifically, by looking at his relationship with his wife and daughter (both named Theodosia), and how he was the rare feminist among the Founding Fathers.

     
  • The cover of the book Alexander Hamilton: Writings (LOA #129)

    Alexander Hamilton: Writings (LOA #129)

    Where better to learn about the man than from his own pen? Or, if you’re overstimulated with Hamilton but want to know about everyone else in his orbit, you can read his letters to John Laurens, Elizabeth Schuyler, and George Washington to better understand the depth of his affection for these mentors and fellow movers and shakers.

     
  • The cover of the book Decoded

    Decoded

    Like the bastard orphan dropped in the middle of a forgotten spot in the Caribbean, Jay-Z had to work his way up from a Brooklyn housing project to his current level of fame and power. Part memoir, part collection of rhymes, “Decoded” fills in some of the gaps in the artist’s youth while sharing the stories that inspired some of his more inexplicable lyrics.

     
  • The cover of the book Founding Brothers

    Founding Brothers

    Miranda was intensely focused in his research: To write the Hamilton-Burr duel (and likely to seed in various references throughout the show leading up to it), he turned to Ellis’ analysis of the duel, alongside five other major episodes of post-Revolution life. In “Founding Brothers,” you’ll also find an examination of George Washington’s Farewell Address and Benjamin Franklin’s attempts to force the issue of slavery with Congress.