• The cover of the book Enchantress of Numbers

    Enchantress of Numbers

    Was Lord Byron’s only legitimate child as vainglorious as her brilliant but scandalous father? Actually, Ada Byron King, Countess of Lovelace, was a gifted mathematician whose mother steered her from frivolous pursuits into a life of academics. How she navigates London society as an adult is the subject of Chiaverini’s latest work of historical fiction. —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book Little

    Little

    Set in 1761 Paris, this bizarre story may very well keep readers up all night. Based on the life of Madame Tussaud, the novel is at once macabre and funny, weird and warming. Its originality makes it compulsively readable, while it remains inscrutable enough to fuel endless conversation about its twists and turns. —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book City of Secrets

    City of Secrets

    Elizabeth Miles may have secrets and ghosts in her own past, but she does what she can to help other high-society women solve their problems. Her friend Priscilla Knight has been left penniless after her husband died under mysterious circumstances and in great debt, and Priscilla herself is suspected of his murder. Elizabeth fights to clear Priscilla’s name, but must do so without letting the skeletons in her own closet come to light. —Swapna Krishna

     
  • The cover of the book Voyager (25th Anniversary Edition)

    Voyager (25th Anniversary Edition)

    The third in the wildly popular Outlander series, this adult fantasy-romance is rendered through a historical lens—and critics say no one does that niche better than Gabaldon. The collector’s edition features a new introduction by the author, which ought to draw new readers to her oeuvre, as well as give her fanbase a welcome update and a keepsake for their shelves. —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book White Houses

    White Houses

    Fans of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue will dive headfirst into this revealing look at Eleanor Roosevelt’s relationship with Lorena Hickok, Eleanor’s close friend and lover during FDR’s presidency. Bloom’s fictional account of the true romance elegantly shines light on a little-discussed fact of American history. —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book White Chrysanthemum

    White Chrysanthemum

    Hana and Emi are sisters living in Korea under Japanese occupation during World War II. But they’re separated when Hana steps in to protect her sister from a Japanese soldier, and Emi never learned what became of her. Decades later, Hana’s sacrifice still haunts Emi, now living in the United States, as she becomes determined to figure out what happened to Hana once and for all. —Swapna Krishna

     
  • The cover of the book Mrs. Osmond

    Mrs. Osmond

    John Banville picks up the narrative of The Portrait of a Lady where Henry James tantalizingly left off, and convincingly imagines the rest of Isabel Archer’s life. Because the award-winning author is so skilled at portraiture, he’s able to craft a would-be sequel of which James himself surely would have approved. —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book House of Gold

    House of Gold

    This sweeping family drama is set in 1911 Vienna and introduces us to the Goldbaums, a wealthy and influential Austrian clan. Heiress Greta Goldbaum finally finds happiness and a sense of belonging, only to have it cruelly interrupted by war and politics. Will she accept change for her own good, or cling to her hard-won serenity? —Romy Weinberg

     
  • The cover of the book A Darker Sea

    A Darker Sea

    In what may be viewed as a sequel to In the Hurricane’s Eye, but is actually a sequel to The Shores of Tripoli, James L. Haley’s A Darker Sea picks up after the American Revolution and focuses on the buildup to the War of 1812. Commander Putnam takes charge of the USS Tempest and leads his men into an unforgettable battle with the enormously formidable British Navy. —Jonathan Russell Clark

     
  • The cover of the book Mary B

    Mary B

    In the reimagining of a classic novel, Katherine J. Chen takes on Jane Austen’s masterpiece Pride and Prejudice by focusing on the youngest of the Bennett sisters, Mary, who exists on the periphery of Austen’s original comedy. In Chen’s telling, Mary is a bookish woman with literary ambitions, stuck in an era when female independence is next to impossible. It’s a brilliant stroke of perspective and a story as rich and funny as any of Austen’s. —Jonathan Russell Clark

     
  • The cover of the book The World According to Garp

    The World According to Garp

    T.S. Garp is the son of feminist icon Jenny Fields, whose book, A Sexual Suspect, made her a celebrity. Garp, a writer himself, grapples with his mother’s fame as well as his own problems, including his obsessive worry over the safety of his kids. Filled with shocking scenes, biting satire, and a Dickensian array of richly drawn characters, Irving’s breakout 1978 novel remains a contemporary classic and a complex portrait of its time. —Jonathan Russell Clark

     
  • The cover of the book Don Quixote

    Don Quixote

    In the recent Netflix show Maniac, the character Annie wants to read Don Quixote to prove she can, but we’re here to argue that Cervantes’ monumental classic (referred to by some as the first true novel) isn’t such a labor to read. In fact, the story of an aging man’s adventures in delusions (most of them derived from the thousands of romances he’s read) is an utterly fun reading experience. Full of hilarious set pieces and way-ahead-of-their-time literary devices, Don Quixote remains an entertaining and necessary part of the canon. —Jonathan Russell Clark

     
  • The cover of the book The Frolic of the Beasts

    The Frolic of the Beasts

    Yukio Mishima published numerous widely acclaimed novels in his life before committing suicide in 1970. The Frolic of the Beasts, the story of a dark and complex love triangle between a student, his professor, and the professor’s wife, was published in 1961 and is now available in English for the first time. A haunting love story, Mishima’s novel introduces English readers to a major figure in Japanese literature. —Jonathan Russell Clark

     
  • The cover of the book The Masterpiece

    The Masterpiece

    The newest novel from Fiona Davis (author of The Address and The Dollhouse) is set in one of New York’s crown jewels: Grand Central Terminal. Sweeping from 1928 to 1974, the story stars Virginia Clay, who stumbles upon an abandoned art school within the terminal, a striking watercolor, and the mystery of a famed illustrator who disappeared in 1931. A rare gem itself, this novel is sure to please fiction lovers of all stripes. —Elizabeth Anne Hartman

     
  • The cover of the book Hippie

    Hippie

    There’s a very good chance that your giftee is among the 65 million-plus people who have read Coelho’s 1998 novel, The Alchemist. In Coelho’s newest book, he again draws on the rich experience of his own life to take us back in time, reliving the dreams of a generation that longed for peace and dared to challenge the established social order. —Elizabeth Anne Hartman

     
  • The cover of the book The Splendor Before the Dark

    The Splendor Before the Dark

    With her novel The Splendor Before the Dark, Margaret George takes the reader to the bygone days of the Roman Empire—specifically, to the time when Nero ruled. George’s novel focuses on the destruction of Rome by fire, and of Nero’s efforts to rebuild the city and avoid plots against him. —Tobias Carroll

     
  • The cover of the book Washington Black

    Washington Black

    A finalist for several major literary awards, Esi Edugyan’s novel Washington Black tells the story of a young man born into slavery in Barbados. His encounter with a progressive inventor forever changes the destinies of both, and the journey on which they embark spans continents, bringing together grand ideas and a sense of adventure. —Tobias Carroll