Fiction

Good for Book Clubs

Read It Forward features some of the finest fiction around, from international bestsellers to hot debuts. For readers who love contemporary, voice-driven, character-rich books.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Be the First to Read an Epic Contemporary Fantasy

The Library at Mount Char is at once horrifying and hilarious, mind-blowingly alien and heartbreakingly human, sweepingly visionary and nail-bitingly thrilling—and signals the arrival of a major new voice in fantasy.

Carolyn’s not so different from the other people around her. She likes guacamole and cigarettes and steak. She knows how to use a phone. Clothes are a bit tricky, but everyone says nice things about her outfit with the Christmas sweater over the gold bicycle shorts.

After all, she was a normal American herself once. That was a long time ago, of course. Before her parents died. Before she and the others were taken in by the man they called Father.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter to Win The Life and Death of Sophie Stark

“I read The Life and Death of Sophie Stark with my heart in my mouth. Not only a dissection of genius and the havoc it can wreak, but also a thunderously good story.” –Emma Donoghue, author of Room

Gripping and provocative, The Life and Death of Sophie Stark is a haunting story of fame, love, and legacy told through the propulsive rise of an iconoclastic artist. Sophie Stark begins her filmmaking career by creating a documentary about her obsession, Daniel, a college basketball star.

Told in a chorus of voices belonging to those who knew Sophie best, The Life and Death of Sophie Stark is an intimate portrait of an elusive woman whose monumental talent and relentless pursuit of truth reveal the cost of producing great art.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter to Win Kent Haruf’s Final Book Our Souls at Night

A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters. Addie and Louis have long been living alone in houses now empty of family, the nights so terribly lonely, especially with no one to talk with.

Their brave adventures—their pleasures and their difficulties—are hugely involving and truly resonant, making Our Souls at Night the perfect final installment to this beloved writer’s enduring contribution to American literature.

Author Essay Good for Book Clubs

Why I Love Bookstores (It’s Not What You Think)

Bookstores. One of my favorite places. Right up there with bars, restaurants, nightclubs, the gym, the doctor’s office, dry cleaners, and the DMV.

Can I tell you something? I love bookstores. I do. Not just because I’m a big reader—I loved Flowers in the Attic, Bonjour Tristesse, Anaïs Nin (all), Colette (again: all), Madame Bovary, Dangerous Liaisons . . . you get the idea. (Merci, France! You’ve taught me so much.) No, I love bookstores because they’re full of hot guys. You know what I’m talking about: the kind of guy who’s all scruffy and bespectacled and underfed, wearing corduroy pants and a dorky concert T-shirt, getting all excited over some Swedish poetry or six-hundred-page treatise on the nature of parks in urban landscapes? I love that guy.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Fans of The Night Circus and Station Eleven! The Gracekeepers Is for You

A lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter for a Chance to Win The Shore by Sara Taylor

An ambitious, Baileys prize-nominated debut set in an unforgettable place, introducing a powerful new voice in fiction

Sanctuary to some but nightmare to others, The Shore is a place that generations of families both wealthy and destitute have inhabited, fled, and returned to for hundreds of years.

From a half-Shawnee Indian’s bold choice to escape an abusive home only to find herself with a man who will one day try to kill her, to a brave young girl’s determination to protect her younger sister as methamphetamine ravages their family, the characters in this remarkable novel have deep connections to the land, and a resilience that only the place they call home could create.

Excerpt Good for Book Clubs

Start Reading The Other Side of Midnight

The man who sat before me at seven o’clock on a Tuesday evening was lying.

He’d come with an impeccable reference from a barrister client of mine, and though he was barely thirty-five, the tailoring of his three-piece suit and the glint of his watch chain spoke of success. He wore power easily in his posture and the set of his shoulders, like a man accustomed to it, and yet the problem he set me was not only trifling; it was false.

He dropped his gaze to the table, where my fingers rested over his, and I took the opportunity to study his face undetected. Slender, clean shaven. Almost handsome, but not quite; something about the width of the temples was off, and an absolute seriousness marred his expression, suggesting no sense of humor.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Be the First to Read The Knockoff, the Season’s Hottest Rom-Com Novel

“Makes The Devil Wears Prada look like My Little Pony.” –Toby Young, bestselling author of How to Lose Friends and Alienate People

An outrageously stylish, wickedly funny novel of fashion in the digital age, The Knockoff is the story of Imogen Tate, editor in chief of Glossy magazine, who finds her twentysomething former assistant Eve Morton plotting to knock Imogen off her pedestal, take over her job, and reduce the magazine, famous for its lavish 768-page September issue, into an app.

A glittering, uproarious, sharply drawn story filled with thinly veiled fashion personalities, The Knockoff is an insider’s look at the ever-changing world of fashion and a fabulous romp for our Internet-addicted age.