Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

How They Should Remake Little Women, the Movie

How do you think that Little Women can be remade in a fresh way?

Sony Pictures is developing a new adaptation of Little Women! This would be the first major film version in over 20 years, with newcomer Olivia Milch writing the screenplay and Sarah Polley (Away From Her) directing. It’s about time that audiences are reintroduced to the March sisters, their struggles, and their loves.

But with Little Women having already been adapted for film, TV, and the on- and Off-Broadway stages, how do you retell Louisa May Alcott’s timeless novel without seeming too out-of-touch, too eager to appeal to modern audiences, or simply copying what’s come before?

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter to Win an Enchanting New Novel: The Little Paris Bookshop

The Little Paris Bookshop is a love letter to books, meant for anyone who believes in the power of stories to shape people’s lives.

Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls.

The only person he can’t seem to heal through literature is himself; he’s still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a letter, which he has never opened.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Great Quotes About Reading

“Many people, myself among them, feel better at the mere sight of a book.” ― Jane Smiley

From Shakespeare to Dan Brown, we’ve collected some of our favorite quotes about reading. These authors capture the joys of reading in just a few words.

“Reading was my escape and my comfort,” writers Paul Auster in The Brooklyn Follies , “my consolation, my stimulant of choice: reading for the pure pleasure of it, for the beautiful stillness that surrounds you when you hear an author’s words reverberating in your head.”

Ahh, the comfort and escape of books. Enjoy more great quotes – and share your own!

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Fans of The Night Circus and Station Eleven! The Gracekeepers Is for You

A lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

Bonus Book Content Good for Book Clubs

Sneak Peek of The Shore by Sara Taylor

When news of the murder breaks I’m in Matthew’s, buying chicken necks so my little sister Renee and I can go crabbing.

Quite the first line, isn’t it? So begins The Shore by Sara Taylor.

“There isn’t much in the way of food in the house, but we found a dollar and sixty-three cents in change, and decided free crabs would get us the most food for that money. Usually we use bacon rinds for bait, but we’ve eaten those already. I’m squatting down looking at the boxes of cupcakes on a bottom shelf when a woman steps over me to get to the register. Matthew’s is small and the shelves are crowded in; when Mama brought us with her to get food Renee and me would have contests to see who could get from the front door to the grimy meat counter at the back in the fewest hops – I could do it in seven.”

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Women in Speculative Fiction

“Here in New Earth, men’s power has won out over women’s power, just like it’s done on Mainground. But men still fear women’s power.”

That’s a line from Mother of Eden by Chris Beckett, the provocative novel about the alien, sunless planet its inhabitants call Eden – and the woman who will change the course of Eden’s history.

Women have been writing speculative fiction since the beginning. Many would say that Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein was the first science fiction novel!

We’ve collected some of our favorite quotes from works of science fiction, fantasy, and speculative fiction – all of them address, in some way, the role of women in these imagined worlds.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Read This, Snack on That

One of my favorite books (a 1950’s YA novel) is a fun, quick, satisfying story on its own, but I know part of the reason I love it is because of the feelings of comfort it brings.

“I first read it during a winter holiday,” remembers Laura Brennan, “curled up on a big armchair, sipping hot cocoa and eating cheese and crackers.

I think about the book and I think about my snack and get the same warm feeling I got reading it 15 years ago!”

Consider these book/snack combos for your next book group or a quiet afternoon reading alone. And tell us about your favorite book/snack combos!