Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Our Dream Collection of Literary Shirts

Wearing a cool shirt? That’s nice. Wearing a cool shirt that celebrates a love of reading? That’s awesome.

We scoured the Web for our favorite literary shirts of all time and found fifteen tops that fit the bill. Tank tops, sweatshirts, and more will help you express your love of books in a shout-it-from-the-rooftops kind of way.

If we had a walk-in closet, it would be filled to the brim with these funny, witty, and charming shirts. Warning: Your wallet is about to start calling your name…

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Enter to Win Kent Haruf’s Final Book Our Souls at Night

A spare yet eloquent, bittersweet yet inspiring story of a man and a woman who, in advanced age, come together to wrestle with the events of their lives and their hopes for the imminent future.

In the familiar setting of Holt, Colorado, home to all of Kent Haruf’s inimitable fiction, Addie Moore pays an unexpected visit to a neighbor, Louis Waters. Addie and Louis have long been living alone in houses now empty of family, the nights so terribly lonely, especially with no one to talk with.

Their brave adventures—their pleasures and their difficulties—are hugely involving and truly resonant, making Our Souls at Night the perfect final installment to this beloved writer’s enduring contribution to American literature.

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Meet the Unforgettable Heroine in Freedom’s Child

Written with a ferocious wit and a breakneck pace, Freedom’s Child is a thrilling, emotional portrait of a woman who risks everything. to make amends for a past that haunts her still.

Freedom Oliver has plenty of secrets. Her few friends and neighbors know she works at the local biker bar; they know she gets arrested for public drunkenness almost every night; they know she’s brash, funny, and fearless.

What they don’t know is that Freedom Oliver is a fake name. They don’t know that she was arrested for killing her husband, a cop, twenty years ago. They don’t know she put her two kids up for adoption. They don’t know that she’s now in witness protection, regretting ever making a deal with the Feds, and missing her children with a heartache so strong it makes her ill.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

Reading Against the Tide

How much do others’ opinions subconsciously sway whether we’ll like a book or not?

“I thought back to when Eat, Pray, Love was published and how every single woman I knew in New York City and beyond was a believer,” remembers Nicole Sprinkle.

“I’d lapped it up and loved it too. Then, ironically, a few years later there was a major backlash. Suddenly, people seemed to be coming out of the woodwork to say they didn’t like the book, that it was unrealistic, the narrator unlikeable. So what happened? Did the book become uncool because of its mainstream popularity, made into a movie with Julia Roberts as the lead? Or had readers been swept into thinking they loved it in the first place?”

Perfect for Book Clubs Good for Book Clubs

Conversation with Chris Beckett, author of Mother of Eden

Why do you think it’s so important to debunk stereotypes about literary fiction and science fiction?

“As I’ve said many times before,” says Chris Beckett, author of Dark Eden and Mother of Eden, “all fiction involves making stuff up—making up characters, making up situations—in order to be able to explore aspects of life that might otherwise be impossible to reach. Science fiction’s one defining feature is that, as well as inventing characters and situations, it also invents worlds that are in some way different from the one we actually know.

SF can be brilliant, good, bad, and terrible, but then so can love stories, or war stories, or stories set in the past.”

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

7 Books That Will Make You Appreciate Your Mom

Happy Mother’s Day, RIFers! We want to hear about your favorite ‘mom books’ and we’ve collected some of our own.

You often see lists of books to give for Mother’s Day, but less frequently do you see books that, in their explorations of mother-child relationships, hit home the importance of celebrating Mother’s Day.

These stories about the joys, tears, and frustrations of having a mother will do just that. From classics like Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying to book club classics like The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan to more experimental books like Break It Down by Lydia Davis, we have something for everyone.

Your Reading Life Good for Book Clubs

How to Read It Forward Across Generations

The “first impression” my boyfriend’s dad had of me was The Sparrow‘s very dark, graphic, anti-faith ending.

When my mom first gave me a copy of The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell for Christmas 2010, I accepted it with some trepidation: OK, it’s sci-fi, but her book club read it. They’re a bunch of moms who aren’t very in touch with the genre.

But a few months later, I took a writing class in which one of the students recommended “this amazing 1990s sci-fi novel, about Jesuit priests trying to colonize a planet and failing mightily – oh, and the main character gets his hands all mutilated by the aliens!”

Giveaways Good for Book Clubs

Fans of Literary Psychological Fiction: You Will Love Bradstreet Gate

A tour de force debut about a campus murder for readers of Donna Tartt, Meg Wolitzer, and Jeffrey Eugenides.

Georgia, Charlie and Alice each arrive at Harvard with hopeful visions of what the future will hold. But when, just before graduation, a classmate is found murdered on campus, they find themselves facing a cruel and unanticipated new reality. Moreover, a charismatic professor who has loomed large in their lives is suspected of the crime.

A relentless, incisive, and keenly intelligent novel about promise, disappointment, and the often tenuous bonds of friendship, Bradstreet Gate is the auspicious debut of a tremendously talented new writer.