For Fans of Room, The Dinner, and Special Topics in Calamity Physics

Marina Mander's first U.S. publication, The First True Lie, has been compared to some of the most celebrated novels in recent years. Read and be haunted.

“Mander’s English-language debut is narrated by the ebullient Luca, whose voice is every bit as engaging as the best child narrators out there: imagine a blend of Oskar (Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close), Blue (Special Topics in Calamity Physics), and Christopher Boone (The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time). This slim novel smartly focuses on the cranks and gears of Luca’s imagination . . . . [A]t its best, Luca’s original voice will break your heart. Ultimately, Luca’s story offers a buoyant picture of hope in the face of disaster, and life in the face of death.” —Publishers Weekly

“From page one I was with Luca, the adorable and witty young narrator of this brilliant and emotionally upsetting story. I lived in his words and in his head, and stayed there for a long time after I had finished the book.” —Herman Koch, author of the international bestseller The Dinner

“Translated from the Italian in clear, lyrical prose, always true to the child’s viewpoint, the blend of horror and innocence captures a universal nightmare . . . . The terse survival drama of the child marooned alone, not in the wilderness but in the crowded city, will stir readers: Could it be happening on my street? How will it end?” —Booklist

“[An] elegantly carved look into the inner life of an orphaned child.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Cruel, heart-wrenching, and surprising…As all great books do, this opens a window into a world. It will not be easy for you to close that window, nor to forget that world.” —La Republica

“A beautiful novel that tells a terrible story with brio and depth.” —Tiziano Scarpa

Congrats to Dawn B., Keisha J., Shae S., Pamela F., Joyce Y., and 95 other members of the Read It Forward community! Their entries were selected at random to win a copies of The First True Lie by Marina Mander.

Make sure you’re subscribed at the top of this page. You’ll get an exclusive email from us every week with info on how to enter our members-only Read It First giveaways.

If you’ve had a chance to read Marina Mander’s The First True Lie, leave a comment with your review!

  • crazymom

    I thought it was an interesting concept. I found that the language was harsher then it needed to be to get the point across.